top of page

Parsley the orphan ewe lamb


Parsley came from Strickland Wiltshires in the Hawkes Bay on the 6th August. She was just a few hours old when we picked her up. She weighed a huge 4.59kg when we got her home!

She drank very well and started off on 6 feeds a day of Jumpstart colostrum 150ml at a time.

Parsley sat on my knee on the way home and we formed an immediate strong bond.

Parsley loves sitting on my knee still and at 5 days old learnt how to jump up on my knee after watching the cats do it! Oh boy she's an intelligent one ;-)

Since we live in the wet Manawatu it's been too muddy outside for her to be an outside lamb so she's a very spoilt inside lamb (even if it wasn't muddy I'd come up with another excuse) ;-)

Parsley is much loved and is an important part of our family.

At 3 weeks old she weighed 8.53kg!

She has nibbled away at Reliance Lamb Start Mix from 4 days old and while she spat most of it out initially it really helps develop the rumen.

At 3 weeks and 4 days old today she started regurgitating which tells me her rumen is developing well.

Parsley still loves the car so has gone on wee trips with us, with her sitting on my knee.

We even visited the rest home and had lunch (including her bottle) at my Dad's. As long as I am there she is happy.

She gives our pet cats a bit of a hard time and likes to boss them round and nibble on their fur.

She was sweetest when she was just new (see photos)

We have a lot of fun, she is very intelligent and very naughty but oh so cute!

On sunny days she likes to follow me around outside and will eat sticks, leaves and dirt. She is yet to eat grass despite my encouragement.

As she grows and becomes more independent the plan is to transition her outside slightly more, especially with it being the 1st day of spring tomorrow.

Inside Parsley wears nappy pants which are great!

Nice and comfy but she is already in the biggest size and will out grow them soon, OH NO!

I am very grateful to the Stricklands for giving me the opportunity of raising one of their beautiful lambs :-)

bottom of page